John Roshka Photographer

PerfectRAW 0.65 Workflow

Posted in PerfectRAW, Photography, Software, Tutorials by John Roshka on January 5, 2009

Very soon a new version of PerfectRAW will be available with a more easy to use interface. But, until then I’m about to show you my workflow with PefectRAW 0.65.

I chose an image with contrast problems and a lot of branches. In the field I chose a high aperture number (small aperture ring) to eliminate chromatic aberrations.

This is the original RAW file.

Feel free to download it and try it yourself with your RAW converter and compare the results. I tried it with RawTherapee and ACR and it didn’t work for me. I’m not going to post the examples because I’m not a professional at these softwares, but if someone gets a better results using ACR or other software please feel free to send me some links with your comparison.

Also, take into consideration that PerfectRAW 0.65 is a converter, demosaic software. It reveals the RAW and you have the possibility to save it in TIFF or JPG. It provides WB management, exposure compensation and preservation (Recovery), highlight recovery, noise attenuation and other features. It doesn’t provide color management, color shift, contrast or other toning techniques. 

PerfectRAW it’s a tool for getting the most from your RAW file. With the saved TIFF one has the possibility to work in the favourite software.

So, considering you saw the original RAW image , this is the image I got directly from PerfectRAW (2.4 mb):

crw_8158crw1

Now, I’m about to write down the settings I used to get this result:

Exposure: +1  

I use it to lighten the image.

 

Preservation: +1    

I used this setting to bring the blue color of the sky back after using +1 for exposure. First chose the exposure number you need and then work with the Preservation. 

 

White Balance:  Camera  

Here I play with Camera and Auto settings. Here is what came up with Auto setting for white balance:

crw_8158crw3

So, white balance is a matter of taste.

 

Green Equilibration: I don’t touch it. It’s for Panasonic cameras.

 

Highlight recovery: 0  

I didn’t use it here because I don’t have burned out highlight. When needed I increase the number little by little until I get what I need. Then, I raise the Exposure, becuase when I chose a highlight recovery number the image automatically becomes a bit darker.

 

Noise Attenuation: None

Didn’t use it here, but you can chose AFD and the % you need for reducing noise. Play with it until you get the desired result.

 

Interpolation Algorythm: AFD    

There are a lot of them, but the best are VCD and AFD. You can combine the VCD algorythm with AFD noise reduction.

 

Saturation: I leave it by default. DCRAW calculated it for me.

 

Black Level: Same as Saturation. Sometimes I increase the black level to get a bit of contrast.

 

Median Filter Passes: 10  

This tool is very usefull when in the image there are branches, grass or other fine detail. I always put it on maximum – 10.

 

ES Median Filter Passes: 10

This is a new tool and it eliminates some color cast.

 

EECI Refine:  1  

This i also a new tool and it brings a sensation of sharpness. Bigger the number more pixels are added on the edges like a zigzag. Use it with more than 100 % zoom. The second image (yellow cast) was processed with EECI Refine 0. If you look at 100 % you’ll notice the difference between the blue cast image (the upper first) and the second one (yellow cast).

 

Save TIFF: TIFF 16 bits sRGB

 

Save JPEG: JPEG 8 bits sRGB

 

Well, these are the main settings in PerfectRAW. Enjoy and don’t forget, more you use it, better you’ll hadle it…and better the results.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dgavrile said, on July 2, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    Fully agere with you. I’ve tested few RAW coveretes and although they have + and – especially on the workflow. Perfect raw is users friendly and very good quality in squeezing RAW potential.

  2. John Roshka said, on August 22, 2009 at 7:37 PM

    I agree with you. I use PerfectRAW on my most complicated images to get the best quality. I can’t wait for the team to get the final version 1.0. I like the GPU feature of the o.70 alpha version.


Leave a Reply

